The Rashtriya Indian Military College (RIMC) is a public school for boys situated in Doon Valley, Dehradun in India.

The RIMC is a feeder institution for the National Defence Academy, Indian Naval Academy and subsequently the Indian Armed Forces.

Alumni of the RIMC are known as “Rimcollians”. Rimcollians have held high positions in the Armed Forces, many becoming the Chiefs of Staff in the Indian and Pakistani Armed Forces. The cadets enrolled at RIMC are known as “Rimcos” to distinguish them from the alumni.

ROBA (Rimcollian Old Boys Association) and ROBA Trust, an educational Trust are two bodies working for the betterment of the school in its own capacity.

All almuni are invited to join the association, ROBA and requested to do their bit for the School.

More details about the Trust, and why it was needed can be found here.

Some of the high-ranking officers produced by the RIMC are :-

  • General KS Thimayya, Padma Bhushan, DSO
  • General GG Bewoor, Padma Bhushan, PVSM
  • General Vishwa Nath Sharma, PVSM, AVSM
  • General S Padmanabhan, PVSM, AVSM, VSM
  • Air Chief Marshal NC Suri, PVSM, AVSM, VM
  • Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa, PVSM, AVSM, YSM, VM
  • Maj Gen Mohd Anwar Khan (Pakistan Army Engineers)
  • Lt Gen Sahibzada Yakub Khan (Pakistan Army)
  • Maj Gen Nasurallah Babar (Pakistan Army)
  • Air Marshal Asghar Khan (Pakistan Air Force)
  • Air Marshal Nur Khan (Pakistan Air Force)
  • Lt Gen TKS Katoch, MC, Padma Bhushan
  • Lt Gen JS Dhillon, Padma Bhushan
  • Lt Gen KP Candeth, Padma Bhusan, PVSM
  • Lt Gen GG Bewoor, Padma Bhushan, PVSM
  • Lt Gen PS Bhagat, PVSM, VC
  • Lt Gen K Chiman Singh, PVSM       
  • Lt Gen RK Gulati
  • Lt Gen RN Batra, PVSM, VSM
  • Lt Gen HM Khanna, SYSM, PVSM, AVSM
  • Lt Gen JS Varma, PVSM, AVSM
  • Lt Gen MM MM Lakhera, PVSM, AVSM, VSM
  • Lt Gen SK Singh, PVSM, UYSM, AVSM
  • Lt Gen Gautam Dutt, VSM
  • Lt Gen BS Negi, PVSM, UYSM, YSM, SM, VSM**, PhD
  • Lt Gen CP Mohanty, PVSM, SM, VSM
  • Maj Gen Hira Lal Atal
  • Maj Gen Karam Singh, PVSM, SM
  • Vice Admiral KASZ Raju, PVSM, AVSM, NM 
  • Vice Admiral Harinder Singh, PVSM, AVSM
  • Vice Admiral (Dr) AR Tandon, PVSM, AVSM, Ph.D
  • Vice Admiral PK Chatterjee, PVSM, AVSM, NM
  • Vice Admiral Bimal Verma, AVSM
  • AVM Kanwar Jaswant Singh
  • AVM Ranjan Dutt, VrC
  • Air Mshl S Raghvendran, PVSM, AVSM
  • Air Mshl PK Dey, PVSM, AVSM
  • Air Mshl V Patney, SYSM, PVSM, AVSM,VrC
  • Air Mshl TJ Master, PVSM, AVSM
  • Air Mshl DC Kumaria, PVSM, AVSM, VM, VSM
  • Air Mshl C Hari Kumar, AVSM, VM, VSM, ADC
  • Air Mshl PP Reddy, PVSM, VM 

Gallantry awards have been awarded to many Rimcollians. Notable among them are :-

  • Gen KS Thimayya - Distinguished Service Order 
  • Lt Gen PS Bhagat - Victoria Cross
  • Major Som Nath Sharma - Param Vir Chakra